Empty Promises

Words fill the air and fall forgotten
Intention and meaning lost
As memory fades
And friendships change
So many things you told me
Secrets we shared
Trust in one another
Forgotten, lost, gone
And I have to wonder:
Was it ever really there?

Promises you made
With the best intent
Things you said to me
Feelings you professed
Questions you asked
And answers I gave
The words fell silent in the empty air
Left to fall, useless on their own
And I have to ask:
Did you mean them?

I thought
We were friends
I thought
We were more
Best friends, forever,
What you said
Was what I believed
I never lied,
You never told the truth.

Leave a Reply

